"Stop Spamming" Scam?
Andrew Hunter
pluglist at plug.org
Mon May 19 21:20:31 MDT 2003
Odd request, but would you mind posting the email, or just sending it to
me directly? I'd like to see if there are any similaritiesu to a couple
I've received. One was a request to help find some ridiculous items,
and offering to pay for a reference of a reliable supplier. They were
asking for:
1. The mind warper generation 4 Dimensional Warp Generator # 52 4350a
series wrist watch with z60 or better memory adapter. If in stock the
AMD Dimensional Warp Generator module containing the GRC79 induction
motor, two I80200 warp stabilizers, 256GB of SRAM, and two Analog
Devices isolinear modules, This unit also has a menu driven GUI
accessible on the front panel XID display. All in 1 units would be great
if reliable models are available
2. The special 23200 or Acme 5X24 series time transducing capacitor with
built in temporal displacement. Needed with complete jumper/auxiliary
system
3. A reliable crystal Ionizor with unlimited memory backup.
You don't have any of those in your closet, by chance? :-) I arrived at
the same theory you did-- they want contact to confirm the email
address, and then you really do get signed up for 500 spam lists. In my
case, I think they wanted me to email back something like, "You moron!
Emailing me for things that don't exist? (Insert angry rant here)"
Andrew
-----Original Message-----
From: pluglist-admin at plug.org [mailto:pluglist-admin at plug.org] On Behalf
Of Barry Roberts
Sent: Monday, May 19, 2003 2:20 PM
To: plug
Subject: "Stop Spamming" Scam?
I just got back from a week-long vacation, and I had to (quite rude)
messages in my inbox from companies demanding that I stop spamming
them. One even said thay had signed me up on 500 spam lists.
This was on my work e-mail address. Not only have I never spammed,
but I've certainly never done it from work.
I assumed at first that perhaps these companies were so clueless that
they didn't know what a forged header looked like. But then I noticed
that both messages linked to online payment companies.
Are these companies (stormpay.com and evocash.com) actually hoping
that I'll contact them about this, and end up being a customer? Or
are they just trying to drive traffic to their sites? I don't get it.
Does anybody know what the scam here is?
Thanks,
Barry Roberts
.===================================.
| This has been a P.L.U.G. mailing. |
| Don't Fear the Penguin. |
`==================================='
More information about the PLUG
mailing list